Name Change, Training Wheels and an unexpected turn.

Don’t really know what to say.  I’m learning how to use the site, just discovered I can call my blog whatever I liked(so I did) and put up pretty pictures in the background.  Will probably change things around again but maybe not the name.

About the title, Ride of the Dodecahedron:

Ride of the Dodecahedron was originally just the title of this work. I was exploring working in a loop, taking 3D forms converting them into 2D, then giving the illusion of 3D by the shadows that they cast.  The title became a work onto itself.

It (Ride of the Dodecahedron) is a reference firstly to the operatic work of Richard Wagner. The slow build up, the mounting of successive layers and then the crescendo.  That was were my head was at, I was living that work through my work. It has become a recurring theme, I have that soundtrack playing in my head, the tension, the explosion, all while I am exploring my work.

Secondly it refers to the monologue from;

Apocalypse Now(1979) – Lt. Col. Kilgore’s (Robert Duvall) beachside “The smell of napalm in the morning”.

Kilgore (Robert Duvall): “You smell that? Do you smell that? … Napalm, son. Nothing else in the world smells like that. I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for twelve hours. When it was all over I walked up. We didn’t find one of ’em, not one stinkin’ dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like … victory. Someday this war’s gonna end.” Watch it on YouTube if you aren’t familiar with it.  Note his body language, his facial expressions.Again it has become a place I inhabit whilst working. That feeling. The madness. The certainty.

And so “Ride of the Dodecahedron”(not sure why I dropped the ‘the’) seemed to me an apt title of my blog.

The background picture I a view of Hazelwood Power Station as seen from the bottom of Whitelaws Track looking north.  I hold an unpopular view in that I love this power station, it holds so many memories of my childhood. The awe, romance and promise of youth.  Memories of a prosperous time, the good times before the privatization of the power industry. A time when all our fathers had work, and we had no doubts of our future.

The Valley (I am from a region of Victoria, Australia called the Latrobe Valley) is on its knees, beaten down, bloodied. Its neck in a sleeper hold. But just like Hulk Hogan unleashing Hulkamania – it will rise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

